Asian Inspired Meatballs

Ok I am going to preface this by saying I am not a cook. Most of the time when I try to make things I get easily distracted and throw in other ingredients or I find I don’t have something so I sub something else in. Luckily for me most of the time things turn out ok. 

When I cook I like to cook in volume for a few reasons. When my husband-type is home I HAVE to cook in volume because he can eat more food in one sitting than most entire families…not sure how he can’t gain weight doing this!?! He works overseas so I am cooking for 1 a lot of the time. I still continue to cook in volume because during the week I don’t have time every night when I get home to cook so I am the leftover queen!

This recipe is for meatballs. I love meatballs…they are awesome leftovers. You can dip them in sauces, eat them plain, throw them in a salad, put them in cauliflower rice…etc. There are so many uses for meatballs! I love asian food, one of the things I have had the hardest time adjusting to with eating paleo/primal is that I don’t get Chinese food like I used to. So many of my recipes tend to have an asian flair to them.

 

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato

1 yellow onion

1 red pepper

4 eggs

3 tablespoons sesame oil

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

4 tablespoons pineapple juice

4 tablespoons tomato paste

2 tablespoons coconut aminos

3 tsp ginger

2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 cup coconut flour

3 lbs ground turkey (or beef or meat of choice)

 

Chop the onion into small pieces and put in bowl. Chop the sweet potato and red pepper and add to onion in the bowl. 

Image

Whisk the eggs, sesame oil, rice vinegar, pineapple juice, tomato paste in a bowl until well combined. Add the ginger, garlic salt and ground cloves and whisk well. 

Place meat in a large bowl and add wet ingredient to it and mix well with hands. Add coconut flour and mix well. Mix in the onion, sweet potato and red pepper and mix until well combined. 

Using a cookie dough baller form meat into balls approximately 1 1/2″ in diameter. Place onto cookie sheet greased with coconut oil.

Image

Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes until brown. 

 

 

Leave a comment